Charlotte Traffic Ticket Attorney
Your North Carolina drivers license or privilege to drive in North Carolina if you don’t have a license or are from out-of state, such as Driving While your License is Revoked (DWLR), No Operator’s License (NOL) and Driving While your License is Suspended.
Many of these charges result from unpaid tickets or prior Driving While Impaired charges. We can help you get in a position to reinstate your license or restore your privilege to drive in North Carolina.
Among the traffic citations we handle are speeding tickets, running a red light, running a stop sign, window tint violations, passing a stopped school bus, reckless driving, making an unsafe movement, following too close, crossing the yellow line, illegal passing, hit and run, and death by vehicle. We represent truck drivers with offenses pertaining to their Commercial Drivers License (CDL).
We also handle North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) hearings, including excessive speeding suspensions and Driving While Impaired (drunk driving) refusal hearings where the officer says that you refused to take the breath test on the breath test machine, or the Intoximeter EC/IR II.
If you have been accused of a traffic violation in North Carolina, attorney Chuck Morgan can represent you to help protect your driving privileges. He has successfully defended North Carolina residents in many cases where they were at risk of losing their license due to too many accumulated points on their license and in other cases, to help minimize or avoid insurance increases among other things.
We can help you determine whether or not you have a chance of fighting your traffic ticket and whether we can help you avoid or minimize DMV points and any corresponding insurance increase.
If you are found responsible or convicted of a traffic ticket, your automobile liability insurance premiums can skyrocket, as evidenced by the chart available if you click here.
Depending on your driving record, if your case is not handled correctly by an experienced lawyer like those at the Law Office of Charles L. Morgan, Jr. your license could be suspended for up to 12 months.
If you need to check the status of your North Carolina driver’s license or your privilege to drive in the State of North Carolina if you do not have a valid North Carolina driver’s license, you may obtain a copy from a NC DMV office, by sending a check to the NC Division of Motor Vehicles in Raleigh, or we can order one for you at our cost of $25.
This record will spell out if your driver’s license is currently valid. Should your license have been revoked or suspended, the report will indicate that according to what’s on record at the DMV. This report will also show points against your driver’s license and, in some cases, information on any accidents you have had.
But analyzing your DMV record, comparing it with your pending citation and determining the best course of action to avoid the loss of your license, the imposition of DMV points and any corresponding increase in your automobile insurance premium requires the skill of an experienced lawyer like those at the Law Office of Charles L. Morgan, Jr.
The North Carolina law enforces a 60 day suspension to those drivers who have had 12 or more points on their license within a three year period. Once you have reached 12 points or come close to the limit, this criminal defense attorney in Charlotte can evaluating your case and discuss your legal options with you and if needed, defend you in court.
The various traffic offenses that attorney Chuck Morgan can help you with include the following:
• Speeding fines – Given to a driver for not following the speed limit in a given area. 15 miles per hour over the posted speed limit.
• Reckless driving – Given to drivers for driving more than 55 miles per hour over the speed limit. Driving over 80 miles per hour over the speed limit can also be charged with reckless driving.
• DUI/DWI – Given to drivers who are accused of driving while intoxicated or driving under the influence. Driver who are .08 percent or over BAC (blood alcohol concentration).
• Driving without insurance – Given to drivers who do not have insurance while driving a motor vehicle.
• Driving without a license – Drivers who do not have a valid license while driving a vehicle may be charged.
• Driving with a suspended license – Given to drivers who operate their vehicle with a suspended license.
• Hit and run – Given to drivers who have an accident on the road and leave the scene of the accident before exchanging information or waiting for authorities to arrive.
• Running a stop sign or red light – Failing to stop at a stop sign or red light.
• Failure to yield the right of way – Not yielding when it is not your right of way.
Attorney Chuck Morgan has successfully represented many people accused of traffic violations and offenses in North Carolina and will also work hard to defend you and protect your driving privileges. Call a Charlotte traffic tickets attorney to discuss your legal options and represent you in court.
Call us for a free consultation to discuss your case and find out how we can help you.